Shiny, happy things

So the Toto Awards 2008 were announced ten days back. And I was one of the two winners in the creative writing category. Quite cheered up my month.

Besides a trophy and plaque, there’s a neat cash prize of 25k but what I like most is that one of the judges was Keki Daruwalla (the others being Gita Hariharan and Ravi Singh of Penguin). His approbation can only be a good thing. Also, Amitav Ghosh was there to present the awards and meeting him was fantastic.

Some of the poems I entered are here.

10 Comments

Filed under Personal, Poetry

10 responses to “Shiny, happy things

  1. Congrats! Who was the other winner? So envy you meeting AG!

  2. SB: Thanks! The other winner was Arka (also for poetry). AG was a darling — very humble and unassuming and interested in everyone else’s opinions about all sorts of things.

  3. Yxz

    Congrats!
    Just in time too, perfect birthday gift – yippeee! πŸ˜€

  4. Anuuuuu! Congratulations, you brilliant person! πŸ™‚ How fantastic is that! I’ve been trying to call you. To say this and also to wish you a very happy birthday. Have a wonderful beginning to an exciting new year.
    I’ve scribbled a little something for you on my page. Hope it is worthy of Our Great Poet. πŸ™‚

  5. Congratulations!!
    πŸ™‚

  6. Well, I’ve squealed about this for a while now, but once again: yaaaaay!!!

    And you’ve been tagged. By me. Revenge is sweeeet. chuckle.

  7. Thank you all, for all the good wishes.

  8. Yxz

    Hey, have you changed your mobile number since we last met in Feb05?
    I sent you a b’day SMS to it and since then have received lots of calls from that number, but it doesn’t ring long enough for me to pick-up and talk.
    Anyway, if your number has changed, would you please send it to me on my yahoo address?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

